Skip to main content
Front view of the Capitol

Miller-Meeks Joins Legislation to Award Congressional Gold Medals to Fallen Soldiers

August 31, 2021


WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, August 31st, 2021, Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02) joined over 150 House members in introducing legislation to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the thirteen U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in Afghanistan last week.

“My heart breaks for the thirteen new Gold Star Families across our country. These soldiers gave their lives in service to our country, and we cannot forget them,” said Miller-Meeks. “A Congressional Gold Medal is the least we can do to honor these heroes. We will never forget their sacrifice.”

To read the full text of this legislation, click HERE.


The legislation will posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Corpsman Maxton Soviak, and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.